Mary has been taken up to heaven; the angels rejoice. They bless the Lord and sing His praises.

Processional Statue of Our Lady at the Shrine of Our Lady of Good Help © GodAloneSufficeth.com, 2011

Hello everybody and Happy Feast (Solemnity) Day. I am sorry I am posting at the 11th hour, however I got up at 5:15 A.M. to serve the 10:00 A.M. Mass at the Shrine of Our Lady of Good Help, and I am exhausted.

Before I shut off the lights and pull up the blanket, I will tell of my experiences at The Shrine. Those of you who follow my series on Our Lady of Good Help, know that the Feast of the Assumption has been celebrated for many of many, many years at the Shrine. For generations the Bishop of Green Bay has celebrated Holy Mass at the Shrine, on this Feast. Historically, this Mass draws more pilgrims than any other Mass throughout the year. Today was no exception, in fact, I witnessed history be made.

For today was the first time that the Assumption Mass was celebrated at the only Approved Marian Apparition Site in the United States. My little brother and I had the honor and privilege of serving this Mass, as 3,000 pilgrims descended on the Shrine to be spiritually nourished and give honor to the Mother of God.

It was a beautiful August day. Bishop Ricken delivered a stirring homily and was assisted during the Mass by more than a dozen priests. As today fades into tomorrow, one image that remains in my heart is the rosary procession around the grounds. 3, 000 pilgrims processed the Chapel grounds, praying the Rosary. An honor guard of Knights of Columbus flanked the statue of Our Lady – one which was dearly loved by Sr. Adele Brise. Then humbly, in the rear of the procession, came Bishop Ricken carrying Our Lord in the Monstrance. It is not possible to convey how much of a privilege and blessing it was to be part of this celebration.

Praise Jesus and Ave Regina Caelorum.

P.S. Our family prayed for your intentions while at the Shrine of Our Lady of Good Help today.

About KJ JMJ

Hello. My name is Ken. I have been discerning the Call for quite a long time, since I was knee high and my Grandpa took me to Holy Hill. I am particularly discerning a vocation as a Discalced Carmelite Friar. I hope this blog offers some assistance to you in discerning your own vocation. Please visit this blog often and journey with me as we all discover the call that God has given to each us.
This entry was posted in Feasts, Solemnities, Memorials, and other Great Celebrations, In Honor of Our Blessed Mother and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mary has been taken up to heaven; the angels rejoice. They bless the Lord and sing His praises.

  1. saberinn says:

    Ken,
    Thank you for your hard work and devotion to Mary and Jesus. The celebration must have been very exciting. We are sorry that we did not attend.

Comments are closed.